Croeso i Gymru 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿…….

Another grey day dawned and though the clouds were quite heavy at times, it remained dry. We said a fond farewell to the goats and squirrels in Cheddar Gorge and I’m fairly certain there was a little goat like cheer as no more shall their early morning graze be interrupted by the hysterical barking of Poppydog!

As planned, we were on our way just before midday with an easy 60 mile journey ahead of us, being mostly motorway. I’m afraid I shouldn’t have done this but I did!

Or this! (I was driving at a steady 47 miles per hour and with both hands on the steering wheel and Poppydog takes a lousy photo!)

We were soon driving through the NT property and parkland of Tredegar House and Country Park, just outside Newport in South Wales, within the boundaries of which is our home for the next two weeks.

Once set up, we went to explore our surroundings, finding a lovely walk around the parkland, taking glimpses of the house from all directions.

Well I think both Poppydog and I agree, this will do nicely!

Two thoughts of the day:

I shall be spending the next 6 months travelling around the coast of Wales – time enough to learn Welsh? Probably not! Where would you even start?

Now bring on a truly spectacular Welsh summer!

4 thoughts on “Croeso i Gymru 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿…….

  1. I went to Uni in Wales. I did learn Welsh, but mainly how to swear effectively. As you do in any language!
    However, the Dutch kept asking me to say Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.
    Diolch in Fawr (That means thank you very much. Fawr is pronounced Vawr!)
    Other tips on Welsh pronunciation; Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch is pronounced Llanfair PG!

    Like

    1. As a child we caravanned in Wales and I spent the whole summer holidays perfecting the pronunciation and spelling of Llanfair PG (in full) and I can still remember it now! Perhaps I’ll just keep that as my party piece!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How funny – before accidentally buying our caravan, the only caravanning that I had ever done was on Morfa beach in Conwy! Those happy early memories (and Snowdonia!) are what led me to go to Bangor Uni! My Welsh pronunciation was not so good when I first went there, however. My Dad has a few foibles with pronunciation (reser-voys instead of reservoirs; Samelsbury instead of Samlesbury – pronounced Sarmsbury) He always insisted on calling the bridge over to Anglesey the Mean-i-aye rather than the Menai. Thankfully, I realised that I was wrong when I lived there and didn’t try to correct anyone…!

        Like

Leave a comment